top of page

SAVAGE X FENTY

The wait is over - but was it really worth all the hype? Back in March, Rihanna announced that we’d be blessed with a Fenty lingerie line. Obviously being one of the biggest sex icons, we all anticipated some really delicate, sexy pieces but has she lived up to our expectations?

Like the rest of the world, I was very excited to see the Savage x Fenty range after seeing all the teaser pre release photos. I won’t lie though, I was confused and slightly disappointed. The lingerie looks like any fast fashion retailer collections, I’d even go as far to say as one bodysuit reminded me of something Primark high churn out. When you’re paying the price for Fenty goods you expect a certain level of quality and for what she's produced I just don’t think the price is worth it. I don’t want to act like the whole line is a flop because there are some nice pieces, I just expected every piece to blow me away.

Rihanna loves to be provocative and has even hinted she takes a liking to S&M so I really was expecting some crazy things. The craziest items are probably the whips and handcuffs but I was expecting more empowering, sexy lingerie not props! Her reasoning behind the underwear range however, has got a warming touch. As most body types aren't represented or catered to in lingerie these days, Rihanna produced a line for anyone and everyone, she said “It was important to me to push the boundaries, but also create a line that women can see themselves in” - all her models differ in shape and race and she really has represented women who are so often forgotten.

Overall, I think she could have done better but her standards are set so high it is hard to smash the ceiling every time. I would love to see a second collection where she’s less tame and doesn’t hold back.


bottom of page